Recent Executive Order Restricts Entry From Eight African Countries Due to the New Omicron COVID-19 Variant

November 29, 2021

On November 26, the President issued a new Proclamation, to take effect on Monday, November 29 at 12:01 am, barring entry to foreign nationals, with few exceptions, who have been physically present in the past 14 days in Botswana, Eswatini (Swaziland), Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, or Zimbabwe.

The Proclamation does not apply to U.S. citizens, or lawful permanent residents, those traveling at the request of the U.S. government who are working to reduce the virus, air and sea crew, noncitizens whose entry is deemed in the National Interest (NIE), and other limited exceptions. The list of those granted exceptions to entry may be found here.

It is expected that the U.S. government agencies that govern the entry of all individuals to the United States will soon issue additional instructions and guidance on how the Proclamation will be implemented, and similar to the travel restrictions imposed on the Schengen and other countries will develop instructions for national interest exceptions.

  • share with
Name Title Direct Dial Vcard
Levine, Roxanne H. Partner Partner 212.216.1122 VCard

Privacy Policy

We have updated our privacy policy. Click here to view.

I agree